The Australian Education System

6 minutes reading time (1135 words)

[:en]Did you know that currently, Australia is the third most popular destination for international students, after the United States and the UK?
According to UNESCO 7,864, Singaporeans studies in Australia. Majority of the international students choose to study in Australia because of their cultural diversity, friendly natives, and of course, the high quality of education.
Graduates from Australia’s educational institutions are highly recognised and hold a very impressive international reputation, owing to the Australian education system.
Moreover, Australian institutions offer a wide range of courses and degrees to choose from, providing an incredible opportunity for students worldwide to widen their horizon. 
Keep reading further to understand all about the Australian Education system.
1. A One Year Qualification - Honours Degree
If you are a person who loves research then an Honours degree is the right degree for you! 
An Honours degree in Australia is generally a one-year qualification that is taken after an undergraduate degree and involves further study in a particular discipline area. In some areas, Honours Degree is available as part of the final year of a four-year undergraduate degree.
An Honours Degree is a prestigious qualification that further develops research, writing and organisational skills. It also demonstrates the ability to undertake a high-level study.
Achievement of a First Class Honours degree means the student has performed at the highest academic level. This degree is equivalent to attaining the highest level of training in a Bachelors degree or a level of a Postgraduate degree. 
Also, Australia is one of the very few nations that offer an Honours degree.
2. Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) -  A framework for international students
The Australian Qualification Framework is a set of hierarchy levels which set a standard of abilities and qualifications for an individual.
AQF was introduced in 1995, to support the national system of qualifications in Australia, encompassing higher education, vocational education and training (VET), and schools.
AQF is a policy for regulated qualifications in the Australian education and training system. 
This consists of ten levels. Each level starts from 1 which represents the very basic knowledge or skill of a subject to level 10 which is the highest and is equivalent to a Doctoral degree.
One of the main objectives of AQF is, it supports individuals’ lifelong learning goals by providing a basis for them to progress through education and training to gain recognition for their prior learning experiences.
3. Your Prior Learning is Recognized!
Wondering what RPL is?
Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is an assessment process used by RTOs (Registered Training Organisations) to evaluate a person's skills, knowledge and experience gained through working and learning, in Australia. 
As a Singaporean student in Australia, you will have an opportunity to use your prior learning, to begin your development in the course you have undertaken.
When you have an opportunity to learn something different why repeat the same classes or courses? With RPL you have a chance to learn something different. This can be through work or other activities such as volunteering, sports or being part of a club.
RTOs provide a credit against units of competency, often shortening the time needed to undertake a qualification.
4. What about High Distinction (HD)?
If a student gets an outstanding performance with grades ranging between 85-100 is usually termed as High Distinction.
This further indicates that the student has produced outstanding work, and has demonstrated a high level of understanding across the entire content of the course.
As most of us know, the grading system in Australia is highly unique. Below is the grading system for undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. 
Undergraduate degree grading system  

Grades Grade Description and Grade Scale
HD High Distinction (80-100)
D Distinction (70-79)
C Credit (60-69)
P Pass (50-59)
F Fail (0-49)

Postgraduate  degree grading system  

Grades Grade Description and Grade Scale
H1 First Class Honours  (80-100)
H2A Second Class Honours (Division A) (75-79)
H2B Second Class Honours (Division B) (70-74)
H3 Third Class Honours (65-69)
P Pass (50-64)
F Fail (0-49)

5. Consider some Internships options too!
Internships are one of the best ways to gain experience and stand out in your field. 
There is a lot to learn about how your industry operates, and begin building connections and networks with some professionals, even before you begin your career. By doing an internship you can convert your academic knowledge into industry skills. 
Your choice of an internship should ideally be something that will enhance your chosen career path. Working within the industry of your field of study will enable you to build a career that’s worth your calibre. 
However, when deciding on an internship, do consider your hobbies, and other career interests as well.
To further support international students, the Education Centre for Australia helps in managing, consulting and guiding through internship requirements. 
6. Vocational Education and Training (VET) - Your personal industrial experience
Do you want to learn from the highly acknowledged industry experts? 
Then, the Vocational Education and Training (VET) sector will be the right sector for you! A lot of courses are available through the VET in Australia. 
Qualifications for VET are provided by government institutions, private institutions and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions, as well.
The qualifications for students range across four levels: (Certificate I, II, III and IV). You will also have an option to earn a Diploma and Advanced Diploma courses.
7. International Students Rights 
It’s always great to know and be assured that someone has got your back when it comes to your education, career or your future in general.
Australia provides Education Services for Overseas Students (ESOS) framework which protects the rights of an international student. 
The ESOS Act protects the student's right to information. It also ensures that the student gets all the information about the course, tuition fee, curriculum etc., from the institution that they would like to study in.
For an international student, there is also a placement and refund service that is available through the Tuition Protection Service (TPS), when an institution is unable to teach the course. 
8. Scholarships - A broader financial path
Want a solution to reduce and manage your expenditure wisely? 
Institutions in Australia are known for their liberal scholarships for international students ranging from partial to full coverage.
Australia Awards scholarships (AAS), Destination Australia awards, Research Training Program (RTP), Australia APEC Women in Research Fellowship and Provider scholarships are some of the popular scholarships for international students.
Universities in Australia offer scholarships based on academic merit, and according to the course in certain cases. It eases a student’s financial burden and helps them focus more on their course.
Eager to know more about studying in Australia? Connect with our AECC Global Educational experts if you require support and assistance! We are here to help you through your educational journey, as always! [:]

Related Posts


Let's get social.

Get In Touch

Study Destinations

Australia                      USA

Canada                        UK

New Zealand              Ireland

Copyright © 2024 aecc. Useful Links | Glossary | Terms of Use | Privacy PolicySite Map
Get in TouchAECC SearchAECC StudentWhatsApp Us